Day 16 – Bridges n bimbos (revisited) – Tuesday 1st July

Íde writing still …

Pádraig, Bláithín & Aisling wayyy higher than the Sydney Opera House

Before going to the aquarium yesterday I had booked Padraig and the girls on the bridge climb for today.  This is the climb up to the top of Sydney harbour bridge I mentioned earlier (see City Tour).  It is the main event the girls wanted to do in Sydney.  For full details of the bridge climb see www.bridgeclimb.com If like me, you suffer from vertigo or have a fear of heights, I would exercise caution in looking at the panoramic views on the website.  I felt dizzy looking at that.  Aisling has given a write up on experiencing the real thing.

I have arranged to meet them after the climb so that we can get something quick to eat before going to the Rocky Horror Show (also pre-booked). The tickets for the Rocky Horror show are advertised at $90AUS. But when looking at the website I see that there are tickets available mid week for $50 dollars. It says the midweek rate is for Wednesday and Thursday night, but on-line it was showing the $50 rate for Tuesday. When I try to book the tickets on-line I can’t because it asks the usual question of the address as shown on your Visa bill, but insists on an Australian postcode. After a few attempts I give up and ring the booking agents.The guy on the line wasn’t aware of the midweek offer, but when I mention it he looks it up and agrees that it is there and sells the 4 tickets at that price.

I assume that at that price we are going to get the worst seats in the house (limited view etc.) so imagine our surprise when we are directed  to seats 4 rows from front of stage, almost dead centre.The first six rows are given streamers to throw at the stage at the end of act one when Rocky gets married. Before the show starts the actors help build up the atmosphere by coming into the audience and intimidating them.

In one case a guy, dressed as a woman sits behind two people talking.The couple are unaware that he/she is there. She sits behind nodding at their conversation making people around them laugh, they look around to see what people are laughing at and realise that they are the butt of the joke.

The show itself lived up to expectations and we all agree that it was a great night.It is not for the faint hearted. During the interval, Aisling turns to tell me something, stops and then starts laughing. I ask her what’s funny. She said she was just about to say “imagine coming to see this with your parents” when she realised that she was. To me there is nothing sexual in the Rocky Horror Show – it is just funny. Aisling tells me that between this and the bridge climb, it is the best day ever.

Leave a Reply

